Grass is greener?!?

I had it all. Wealth. Power. Influence. A beautiful wife and two loving daughters. Status in the community. What happened? How did I get here. It’s all gone. Everything destroyed in a few heartbeats. Now I’m destitute. Living in a cave with my two daughters. I can’t even bear to look at them since I found out that they are both carrying my sons?!? How did that happen? I’m so confused. Maybe we should back up.

I have always had a close relationship with my uncle. He’s really been more of a dad to me, especially since my father died. When he announced that he was moving away because of a vision he had received, it didn’t take me long to sign up. It sounded like a great adventure…going, we knew not where, to follow God. And He promised Uncle Abe some amazing things…lots of real estate, lots of kids, something about blessing. And I was going to be a part of it. Really cool stuff.

When we finally arrived in the land that would one day be ours, there was a famine, so we decided to head down to Egypt. Very questionable move. When we left, our pockets were a lot fatter, and we had an abundance of livestock and slaves who came with us; but Uncle Abe and Aunt Sarai weren’t talking. Not sure what happened, but I know they were split up for a time while we were there. Anyway, when we returned to the land, there wasn’t room for Uncle Abe and I to keep our possessions together. He gave me the option of choosing the region that I wanted. What an uncle! There really wasn’t much of a decision to make from a shepherding perspective…the valley of Sodom was so much more lush and well-watered than the remainder of the land. I hesitated only because I didn’t know if I should leave Uncle Abe with the leftovers, but I did. And things went down hill from there.

Sodom was a booming town, and I was making a killing off of selling livestock. It didn’t take long until I moved the headquarters of the operation into the city. Not long afterwards, I got caught up in the civil war that had ravaged the area and found myself in captivity. But Uncle Abe came to the rescue. What an uncle! You would have thought I would have learned my lesson and moved back with him, but I settled back into Sodom. Elections were coming, and I had a good chance (especially after Abe’s rescue) of being elected to city council. Think of the doors that would open. And it did.

The beginning of the end. Two men came to town. They wanted to stay in the city square, but I heard rumors about what happens to visitors who stay out in the open. I couldn’t let that happen on my watch. I invited the guys in and literally all hell broke loose. They began talking about judgment and fire coming down and the end of life as we knew it. I was to uproot my family and convince my daughters’ fiancées to escape with us. It all happened so fast. And then we were running for our lives. The smell of burning sulfur was in the air. The anguished cries of the dying. And then my wife stopped running, and slowly turned around. And then she was gone…turned into a pillar of salt. I was in shock when my daughters and I finally made it to the cave in the mountains which has now become our home. When my eldest daughter suggested that I have some wine, I readily agreed. Oddly enough, the next night my younger daughter suggested the same thing. Apparently they had conspired together in an attempt to preserve our family line…

Now it feels like my life is over. I can’t help but think about what could have been. I would trade it all to go back. The wealth. The power. The status. I thought there would be more time. More time to impact my community for the LORD. More time to spend with my wife. Time to see my grandkids grow up. And now that time is gone.

What about you? How are you spending your time? Don’t waste your life like I did.

Your friend, Lot. Until next time…stay salty.

 

2 responses to “Grass is greener?!?

  1. Well, Lot, when you offered your daughters to the mob outside your door in lieu of your guests, perhaps it changed the girl’s perceptions of you and of your moral code. Just saying…

    Nice entry.

Leave a Reply

