Not again: Another word about submission

After posting about submission the other day, another thought struck me on the whole submission thing. Submission is the way I show my love for God. Jesus said, “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments, just as I love My Father and keep His commandments.” Submission is the way I show my love for God…submitting to His will and His authority in my life. For me, it seems easier to do that than submit to earthly authorities He’s placed over me. Then 1 John 4.20 hit me square in the nose, “If someone says, I love God,’ and hates his brother, he is a liar; for the one who does not love his brother whom he has seen, cannot love God whom he has not seen.” Ouch! My failure to submit to earthly authorities, to love them, was proof positive that I wasn’t really loving God. I’m a liar. One of the things that I believe God is teaching me during this time of waiting He has me in is that I talk a good game, but I have a long ways to go when it comes to love. Lord help me.

I’ll sign off with a tag line that a friend of mine uses…Until next time, stay salty.

Leave a Reply

